Camping doesn’t just entail laziness and processed foods

Camping trips and any vacation for that matter are a world of venture for me.. My time to explore and chill (in a sense) with nature/surroundings… The beauty of being a runner is exploring while getting in miles and burning those extra calories the s’mores bring in 

Some say when they go on vacation it’s their time to vaca from everything in their day to day routine. I grab vacations by the horns and take advantage of all the free time I have, grab my garmin & running shoes and check out my surroundings with complete freedom of alarm clocks, work, sitting in traffic, doing dishes, folding laundry. driving from swim lessons to dance… Etc 

 Camping trips growing up mostly consisted of quick easy meals and snacks. It was usually all the crap food we were monitored from day to day back home. It’s hard to stay healthy when you’re sitting around at camp and don’t have all the kitchen amenities …. Well for me camping consist of bathrooms, showers and outlets… Let’s be real I’m not a hike in for miles kinda camping girl. So with an outlet and a grill you can still eat healthy ( or a cute little cabin or motor home)  

Inspiralized inspired me that I can make a healthy meal anywhere… I did manage to bring my tiny effiencient food processor and with that… Bam!  Shredded sweet potato, mix greens, black beans, cabbage, avocado and salsa!
 Super easy super good and supper healthy all while camping!!

Did I have wine, chips and eat s’mores? Well of course…  I’m no food saint, I just try to have balance and be real

 Did I over eat and feel like I came home pounds heavier? Well of course .. But I definitely included smart foods that I probably didn’t think was camping appropriate 15 years ago!  

 Point being you probably have more time to exercise on vacation and just as many eat right options if you do a little homework . Your view on vacations can change from coming back with extra lbs and needing a cleanse to feeling vibrant from exercise and healthy eats!

Food for thought!

🎣🍷🍫🍆🍐🍇

Scfitchic~

Leave a comment